History of the Alphorn

Jump to the german version of ths page.

The blowing of tube instruments has been practised for a very long time. Already the people of the Stone Age blew into hollow bones (warning whistles).

We know cave-drawings of the Australian Didgeridoo still being blown the present days; they have an estimated age of 100'000 years. The Jew have known the "Schofar" already for 2000 years - the "Trumpets of Jericho"!

The Gauls must have known a similar horn too! Once they had impressed Julius Caesar with this horn: within a short time they were able to make known dates of war and short messages by a signal over a considerable territory! And in the second century a.D. at the Swiss Vaud a scene of a shepherd with an instrument like an Alphorn, named LITUUS has been discovered on a roman mosaic.

Long ago the special instrument with its peculiarity has already been estimated. In the year 1563, Prince Leonor of Orleans has taken an Alphornblower from Schwyz in his service. Because blowing on the nature trumpet was very difficult and much knowledge was required, the blowers in the 16th and 17th century have been highly respected people and have been closed together in a own guild.

We know from the history of Switzerland how in critical times the "bull from Uri" (a long curved grown horn of a bull) brawled to the battle and how in the Peasant's War (1653) the peasants from the mountains in the "Entlebuch" assembled under the sound of an Alphorn and prepared for war.

From the Middle Ages we know long straight wind-instruments which have got lager a wounded form (nature trumpets). Until the 15th century only nature instruments have been made. Our Alphorn therefore is a nature wind-instrument hold in good repair from ancient times that has not taken part in the development to a well tempered instrument.

Asking for age and origin research workers are in doubt about, if the "Cornua alpina" of the southern Teutons of the mountains of which the Roman Tacitus is reporting, already has been the Alphorn of the present time. Furthermore we have to consider that the wooden or cortical shepherd's horn is not at all found only in the occidental Alps. Similar types of this instrument can be found in many foreign countries.


THE HISTORY OF THE ALPHORN IN SWITZERLAND

In the 9th century the monk Balbulus from St. Gallen has made notes to sequences that are very similar to dances of Alpine cowherds.

1527 for the first time it has been written about Alphorns occurring in Switzerland. In an arithmetic book of the monastery of St. Urban the following notice had been made: "Two coins for a Valaisan with Alphorn". In these decades the Alphornblowing was misused for begging.

1619 a learned man of music described how begging blowers were lolling about in the cities and begging for food. These begging blowers were in most cases Alpine cowherds, who did not earn enough money for their livelihood in winter.

1653 the Alphorn blew the persons together for war, when the reserves were called out for the Peasants' War.

In the 18th century learned travellers began to write down melodies for the Alphorn. A famous person who did so was Johannes Brahms: On 12 September 1868 he had heard near the Stockhorn a melody being blown with an Alphorn; he made a note of that on a postcard which he sent to Clara Schumann. At a later point of time he integrated this melody into the Symphony No. 1 in c-moll.

Leopold Mozart has written the well-known Symphony Pastorella.

Also poems have been written. But for centuries the government had tried to suppress a self-reliant national culture. Prohibitions of songs, dances and festivals have not proved ineffectual. The Alphorn was blown only rarely. But now the national culture began to reconstruct: festivals were celebrated, songs were sung, people enjoyed and danced. By that the Alphorn fell a bit into oblivion.

On 17 August 1805 at the meadow named "Unspunnen" near Interlaken a festival of shepherds took place with the motto "For the honour of the Alphorn" which had been coined onto medals in memory of the festival. For this festival a competition for blowers had been organised, but only two Alphornblowers took part there.

Things could not go on like that! Therefore the village mayor of Bern in those days gave to a music teacher from the Institutes of Fellenberg the following order: "Mr. Huber (that was his name), you are blowing the Alphorn, as I have heard. Now I would like to prevent that this wonderful national instrument will disappear from our mountains and valleys. I shall have made half a dozen new ones of them, if you would engage in going in the upland, looking there for six young people and teaching them in blowing the Alphorn, and I think, Grindelwald would be the best place for doing that."

No sooner said than done! In the years 1826/27 Mr. Huber realised during the summer his courses in Alphornblowing. This impulse gave a fresh impetus to the Alphornblowing; the original shepherds' instrument was growing to a Swiss national symbol that could not anymore be imagined as absent.

1805 the great shepherds' festival Unspunnen took place, that has been perpetuated by the coloured etching of J.G. Volkmer.

1826 the first course in Alphornblowing managed by F.F. Huber took place in Grindelwald. At the instance of the cantonal president of Mülinen six Alphorns were handed over to young people who were obliged to practise active blowing outside.

1827 the second course in Alphornblowing managed by F.F. Huber took place in Grindelwald. Again free instruments were handed over. The Alphorn was blown in 2 or 3 parts on divers hills.

1869 Festival of Swiss cowherds at Siebnen. Noted down are 15 - 20 blowers. Report by Hch. Sczadrowsky.

1876 Fair of alpine cowherds in Wäggithal. Six persons participated in the competition of blowers.

1881 First competition of blowers in Muotathal. Report by Ernst Heim.

1885 Second competition of blowers in Muotathal. Report by Ernst Heim. Final picture: Seven Alphorns blowing together.

1910 Foundation of the Swiss Federal society of yodelers.

1921 First Alphorn-day at Trueb, managed by J. R. Krenger of Interlaken. 12 participants. Owing to a donation of several thousand francs ten instruments could be handed over to young blowers.

1924 Alphorn-day at Interlaken. Handing over of 13 Alphorns to young blowers.

1938 The musician A.L. Gassmann enlivens the scene of the Alphorn lastingly with his working and his booklet "And blow the Alphorn once again for me".


Christian Schneider, 8308 Illnau, Switzerland

Die Geschichte des Alphorns

Sprung zu der englischen Version dieser Seite.
Das Anblasen von Röhreninstrumenten ist uralt. Bereits die Steinzeitmenschen bliesen in hohle Knochen (Signalpfeifen).

Man kennt Höhlenzeichnungen des heute noch geblasenen australischen Didgeridoo, deren Alter man auf 100'000 Jahre schätzt. Die Juden kennen das Schofar schon über 2000 Jahre - Die "Trompeten von Jericho!

Auch die Gallier mussten ein ähnliches Horn gekannt haben! Mit diesem Horn hatten sie einst Julius Cäsar beeindruckt: In kurzer Zeit konnten sie schon Kriegstermine und kurze Meldungen durch ein Signal in einem beachtlichen Gebiet bekanntgeben! Und im 2. Jh.n.Chr. ist im schweizerischen Waadtland auf einem römischen Mosaik eine Szene von einem Hirten mit einem alphornähnlichen Instrument, LITUUS genannt, entdeckt worden.

Das Instrument ist in seiner Eigenart schon sehr früh geschätzt worden. Im Jahre 1563 nimmt der Prinz Leonor von Orleans einen Schwyzer-Alphornbläser in seinen Dienst. Da das Spiel auf der Naturtrompete sehr schwierig war und grosses Können erforderte, waren die Bläser im 16. und 17. Jahrhundert hochgeachtete Leute und in einer eigenen Zunft zusammengeschlossen.

Wir wissen aus der Schweizergeschichte, wie der Uristier (ein langes, leichtgekrümmtes Stierhorn) in ernsten Zeiten zum Kampfe brüllte, und wie im Bauernkrieg (1653) die Entlebucher Bergbauern sich unter den Klängen des Alphorns sammelten und zum Kriege rüsteten.

Aus dem Mittelalter kennt man lange, gestreckte Blasinstrumente, die später eine gewundene Form erhielten (Naturtrompeten). Bis ins 15. Jahrhundert baute man nur Naturinstrumente. Unser Alphorn ist somit ein wohlerhaltenes Naturblasinstrument aus früheren Zeiten, das die Entwicklung zu einem wohltemperierten Instrument nicht mitgemacht hat.
In der Frage nach Alter und Herkunft des Alphorns hegen die Forscher Zweifel, ob unter dem "Cornua alpina", das die südlichen Berggermanen hatten, von dem der Römer Tacitus berichtet, schon das heutige Alphorn zu verstehen sei. Man muss weiter in Betracht ziehen, dass das hölzerne oder rindene Hirtenhorn keineswegs nur in den abendländischen Alpen vorkommt. Ganz ähnliche Typen begegnen uns in vielen fremden Ländern.


Die Geschichte des Alphorns in der Schweiz

Im 9. Jh. hat der St. Galler Mönch Balbulus Sequenzen notiert, die Kühreihen sehr ähnlich sind.

1527 wurde dann erstmals schriftlich festgehalten, dass es Alphörner in der Schweiz gibt: In einem Rechnungsbuch des Klosters von St. Urban war ein Eintrag von "zwei Batzen an einen Walliser mit Alphorn" gemacht worden. In diesen Jahrzehnten wurde das Alphornblasen zur Bettelbläserei missbraucht.

1619 z.B. beschrieb ein Musikgelehrter, wie Bettelbläser in den Städten herumlungerten und um Nahrung bettelten. Diese Bettelbläser waren meistens Sennen, die sich in der Winterzeit ihren Unterhalt nicht auf der Alp verdienen konnten.

1653 blies das Alphorn die Männer zum Krieg zusammen, als man für den Bauernkrieg mobil machte.

Im 18. Jh. hatten dann gelehrte Reisende angefangen, Alphornmelodien aufzuschreiben. Ein berühmtes Beispiel dazu ist Johannes Brahms: Am 12. September 1868 hatte er am Stockhorn eine Alphornmelodie gehört und auf einer Postkarte notiert, die er an Clara Schumann sandte. Später hat Brahms dann diese Melodie in die Sinfonie No 1 in c-moll integriert.

Leopold Mozart hat die bekannte Sinfonia Pastorella geschrieben.

Auch Gedichte wurden geschrieben. Doch schon seit Jahrhunderten hatte die Obrigkeit versucht, eine eigenständige Volkskultur zu unterdrücken. Lieder-, Tanz- und Festverbote waren nicht ohne Wirkung geblieben. Das Alphorn hörte man nur noch selten. Doch nun begann sich die Volkskultur zu rekonstruieren: Feste wurden gefeiert, Lieder gesungen, es wurde gelacht und getanzt. Dabei geriet das Alphorn ein wenig in Vergessenheit.

Am 17. August 1805 fand auf der Unspunnen-Wiese bei Interlaken ein Hirtenfest statt. "Zur Ehre des Alphorns" war die Devise, die auf Erinnerungsmedaillen geprägt wurde. Für dieses Fest war ein Wettblasen organisiert worden, doch ganze zwei Alphornbläser beteiligten sich daran!

Das konnte doch nicht so weitergehen! Deshalb gab der damalige Schultheiss von Bern einem Musiklehrer von den Fellenbergischen Instituten einen Auftrag: "Herr Huber (so hiess er), Sie blasen, wie ich vernommen habe, das Alphorn. Nun möchte ich gern verhüten, dass dieses schöne Nationalinstrument ganz aus unseren Bergen und Tälern verschwände. Ich will ein halbes Dutzend neue machen lassen, wenn Sie sich damit befassen wollen, ins Oberland zu gehen, dort sechs junge Leute aufzusuchen und sie zu lehren, und dazu wäre Grindelwald, dünkt mich, der beste Ort."

Gesagt, getan! 1826/27 führte Huber während des Sommers seine Alphornkurse durch. Dieser Impuls gab dem Alphornspiel neuen Auftrieb, und aus dem urtümlichen Hirteninstrument war ein nicht mehr wegzudenkendes schweizerisches nationales Symbol geworden.

1805 Das grosse Unspunnen Hirtenfest, verewigt durch die farbige Radierung von J.G. Volkmer.

1826 I. Alphornkurs in Grindelwald, geleitet durch F.F. Huber. Auf Veranlassung von Landammann von Mülinen wurden sechs Alphörner an junge Leute abgegeben gegen die Verpflichtung, das Spiel im Freien lebhaft zu betreiben.

1827 II. Alphornkurs in Grindelwald, geleitet von F.F. Huber. Wiederum Abgabe von Freiinstrumenten. 2 - 3 stimmiges Spiel auf verschiedenen Hügeln!

1869 älplerfest in Siebnen. Angegeben sind 15 - 20 Bläser. Bericht durch Hch. Sczadrowsky.

1876 Sennenchilbi im Wäggithal. Am Wettblasen beteiligten sich sechs Mann.

1881 I. Wettblasen im Muotathal Bericht durch Ernst Heim.

1885 II. Wettblasen im Muotathal. Bericht durch Ernst Heim. Schlussbild: Zusammenblasen von sieben Hörnern.

1910 Gründung des Eidg. Jodlerverbandes.

1921 I. Alphorntag in Trueb, geleitet von J.R. Krenger in Interlaken. 12 Teilnehmer. Dank einer Spende von mehreren 1000 Franken konnten zehn Instrumente an junge Bläser abgegeben werden.

1924 Alphorntag in Interlaken mit 17 Teilnehmern. Abgabe von 13 Alphörnern an junge Bläser.

1938 Der Musiker A.L.Gassmann belebt die Alphornszene nachhaltig mit seinem Wirken und seinem Büchlein 'Und blast mir das Alphorn noch einmal'.


Christian Schneider, CH-Illnau